The Band

Evanescence is an American rock band founded in Little Rock, Arkansas, in 1995 by singer and pianist Amy Lee and guitarist Ben Moody. After recording independent albums, the band released their first full-length album, Fallen, on Wind-up Records in 2003. On the strength of hit singles “Bring Me to Life” and “My Immortal“, Fallen sold more than 17 million copies worldwide and helped the band win two Grammy Awards out of six nominations. A year later, Evanescence released their first live album, Anywhere but Home, which sold more than one million copies worldwide. In 2006, the band released their second studio album, The Open Door, which sold more than five million copies.

The band reconvened in June 2009 with a new lineup; their next studio album, Evanescence, was released in 2011. It debuted at the top of the Billboard 200 chart with 127,000 copies in sales. The album also debuted at number one on four other different Billboard charts; the Rock Albums, Digital Albums, Alternative Albums, and the Hard Rock Albums charts. The band spent 2012 on tour in promotion of their latest album with other bands including The Pretty Reckless and Fair to Midland. Troy McLawhorn also became a full-time band member during this time. Following the end of the album’s tour cycle in 2012, the band entered another hiatus.

In 2015, Evanescence emerged from hiatus and announced they would resume touring; however, they stated that new Evanescence material was not being produced, as Lee was focusing on a solo project instead. In addition, Balsamo left the band and was replaced by Jen Majura. In March 2017, Lee stated Evanescence was working on a fourth album for release later in 2017; Synthesis was released worldwide on November 10, 2017, and marked a stylistic change in the band’s sound. In December 2020, the band announced that their fifth studio album, The Bitter Truth, will be released on March 26, 2021.

The lineup of the group changed several times over the course of the first two studio albums productions and promotions: David Hodges left in 2002, co-founder Moody left in 2003 (mid-tour), bassist Will Boyd in 2006, followed by guitarist John LeCompt and drummer Rocky Gray in 2007, and Terry Balsamo in 2015. [Source]

To view a list of all awards Evanescence has won CLICK HERE

Current Members

Amy Lee – lead vocals, keyboards, harp (1995–present)
Troy McLawhorn – guitar, backing vocals (2011–present; touring musician 2007–2011)
Jen Majura – guitar, backing vocals, theremin (2015–present)
Tim McCord – bass (2006–present)
Will Hunt – drums (2010–present; touring musician 2007–2010)

Former Members

Ben Moody – lead and rhythm guitar, bass, drums (1995–2003)
David Hodges – keyboards, drums, backing vocals (1999–2002)
Will Boyd – bass (2003–2006; touring musician 2002–2003)
Rocky Gray – drums (2003–2007; touring musician 2002–2003)
John LeCompt – rhythm and lead guitar, backing vocals (2003–2007; touring musician 2002–2003)
Terry Balsamo – lead and rhythm guitar (2003–2015)

Official Links

YouTube VEVO: