The Open Door

Produced by: Dave Fortman
Release date: September 25, 2006
Genre: Alternative metal, gothic rock, symphonic metal
Running time: 54:15

The Open Door is the second studio album by American rock band Evanescence, released on September 25, 2006, by Wind-up Records. The album was initially set to be released in March 2006, but was postponed as a result of guitarist Terry Balsamo’s stroke, the loss of the band’s former manager, and Will Boyd’s and Ben Moody’s departure from the group. The record symbolizes a new beginning for the band, incorporating new elements into their previous musical styles, including symphonic metal, as well as the use of choirs on several songs. The writing process for the album took over 18 months to complete; most of the songs were written by Amy Lee and Terry Balsamo, while production was handled by Dave Fortman.

Track List
01. Sweet Sacrifice
02. Call Me When You’re Sober
03. Weight of the World
04. Lithium
05. Cloud Nine
06. Snow White Queen
07. Lacrymosa
08. Like You
09. Lose Control
10. The Only One
11. Your Star
12. All That I’m Living For
13. Good Enough
Japanese edition bonus track
14. Call Me When You’re Sober (acoustic version)
Japanese limited edition
15. Call Me When You’re Sober (video)
16. Making of the Video – Behind the scenes footage